Ireland bank holidays 2018 and 2019

The Republic of Ireland celebrates nine public holidays (bank holidays). Four of them are on fixed days, while the remaining five ones are moveable holidays. During those days, the majority of public institutions as well as banks will be closed.

2018

Holiday name / local name

2019

1 January (Monday)

New Year’s Day / Lá Caille

1 Jnauary (Tuesday)

17 March (Saturday), observed 19 March (Monday)

Saint Patrick’s Day / Lá Fhéile Pádraig

17 March (Sunday), observed 18 March (Monday)

2 April (Monday)

Easter Monday / Luan Cásca

22 April (Monday)

7 May (Monday)

May bank holiday / Lá Bealtaine

6 May (Monday)

4 June (Monday)

June bank holiday / Lá Saoire I mí an Mheithimh

3 June (Monday)

6 August (Monday)

August bank holiday / Lá Saoire i mí Lúnasa

5 August (Monday)

29 October (Monday)

October holiday / La Saoire Dheireadh Fómhair

28 October (Monday)

25 December (Tuesday)

Christmas Day / Lá Nollag

25 December (Wednesday)

26 December (Wednesday)

St. Stephen’s Day / Lá Fhéile Stiofáin

26 December (Thursday)

Please note that if an official public holiday falls on a weekend, it will be observed on the next Monday.

St. Patrick’s Day celebrations in Ireland
The day of Ireland’s patron saint, Patrick, is by far the greatest manifestation of the Irish national spirit, celebrated not only in Ireland but also by the Irish communities throughout the world. St. Patrick is credited with converting Ireland to Christianity in the 5th century. The date of his death, 17 March is an occasion to great religious celebrations but also profane festivities of the Irish culture and heritage.

Interesting facts about St. Patrick’s Day celebrations:

On 17 March every year Ireland dresses green. Public festivities are held in every major city and town being the Dublin Parade the most important of them.

Religious celebrations also take place in local parishes and, although 17 of March is usually in the Lent period, restrictions on feasting and drinking alcohol are suspended during the day.

Bank holidays Ireland
The celebrations of the June, August and October bank holidays are very much related with the season.

The October bank holiday is associated with Halloween. Although Halloween celebrations are not an original element of the Irish culture, the world-wide popularity of the ‘spooky’ holiday has not come unnoticed in Ireland. Halloween themed parties are held, together with more traditional events. The Dublin Marathon, one of the most prestigious sports event of the kind, takes place on every last Sunday of October, coinciding with the bank holiday.

Sport events are also an important part of the June and August bank holidays, when the Irish take advantage of the weather conditions: pleasant temperatures and, with luck, clear skies, not that common in Ireland. 


Ireland bank holidays 2018 and 2019
Article: Ireland bank holidays 2018 and 2019
Topics: ,

Send feedback or suggestions to the editors

Send kommentar