UK bank holidays 2019 and 2020 - public holidays in England, Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland

In the UK bank holidays (or public holidays) are distributed differently in England, Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland, respecting the cultural differences of the constituents of the United Kingdom.

Summer bank holiday

Summer bank holiday offer opportunity to enjoy good weather, rare in England.

See blow is the list of UK bank holidays in 2019 and 2020 for England and Wales:

2019

Holiday

2020

1 January (Tuesday) 

New Year's Day

1 January (Wednesday)

19 April (Friday)

Good Friday

10 April (Friday)

22 April (Monday)

Easter Monday

13 April (Monday)

6 May (Monday)

May Day

4 May (Monday)

27 May (Monday)

Spring / Late May Bank Holiday

25 May (Monday)

26 August (Monday)

Summer Bank Holiday

31 August (Monday)

25 December (Wednesday)

Christmas Day

25 December (Friday)

26 December (Thursday) 

Boxing Day

26 December (Saturday)

*substitute holiday on 28 December (Monday)

*If a statutory work-free day in the UK falls on a Saturday or a Sunday it is not ‘lost’ but postponed to the next fallowing weekday, as a “substitute public holiday”.

Despite the fact that Wales celebrates several local holidays, none of them has a status of a statutory holiday, unless they coincide with those from the table above.

Public holidays in Northern Ireland 2019 and 2020
In addition to the holidays in the table above, in Northern Ireland, there are two more public holidays:

  • 17 March - St. Patrick’s Day
  • 12 July - the Battle of the Boyne Day.

In 2019 St. Patrick’s Day falls on a Sunday, which means it will be celebrated on the following Monday and in 2020 on a Tuesday.

St. Patrick’s Day celebration sin London.

The Battle of Boyne holiday, also referred to as the Orangemen’s Day falls on a Friday in 2019 and on a Sunday in 2020, being observed on the following Monday .

Public holidays (bank holidays) in Scotland
In Scotland public holidays are determined by local authorities which means that the calendar of celebrations varies considerably in different parts of Scotland and even in different cities. Bank holidays common in all of Scotland in 2019 and 2020 are:

2019

Holiday

2020

1 January (Tuesday)

New Year's Day

1 January (Wednesday)

2 January (Wednesday)

2 January

2 January (Thursday) 

19 April (Friday)

Good Friday

10 April (Friday)

6 May (Monday)

May Bank Holiday

4 May (Monday)

27 May (Monday)

Spring / Late May Bank Holiday

25 May (Monday)

5 August (Monday)

Summer Bank Holiday

3 August (Monday)

30 November (Saturday)

*observed on 2 December (Monday)

St. Andrew’s Day

30 November (Monday)

25 December (Wednesday)

Christmas Day

25 December (Friday) 

26 December (Thursday)

Boxing Day

26 December (Saturday)

*observed on 28 December (Monday)

 

Find useful information on Visit Scotland



UK bank holidays 2019 and 2020 - public holidays in England, Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland
Article: UK bank holidays 2019 and 2020 - public holidays in England, Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland
Topics: , ,

Send feedback or suggestions to the editors

Send kommentar