Cheap car hire guide

Our aim is to help you find the best deals and cheapest possible rates on internet car hire.
When you book a hire car online, you are most likely to achieve far better rates compared to booking through the car hire companies directly.

Search articles

Best search engines

Canada National Holidays 2016/2017

There are ten provinces and three territories in Canada. Because of that, there are many holidays that are only celebrated locally, only in some of the provinces or territories. Only a few holidays are celebrated nationally.

Overview of national holidays (bank holidays) in Canada:


Name in English/French


1 January (Friday)

New Year’s Day/Jour de I’An

1 January (Sunday)

25 March (Friday)

Good Friday/Vendredi Saint

14 April (Friday)

1 July (Friday)

Canada Day/Fête du Canada

1 July (Saturday)

5 September (Monday)

Labour Day/Fête du Travail

4 September (Monday)

25 December (Sunday)

Christmas Day/Noël


25 December (Monday)

Listed above are the national holidays that are statutory holidays. However, there are also holidays that, for all federal employees, are statutory - banks and post offices follow these holidays too. The holidays are considered optional in some provinces, meaning that they are not paid holidays in all of Canada.

Canada Day

Canada Day as it is celebrated at the Ottawa Parliament


Name in English/French


28 March (Monday)

Easter Monday/Lundi de Pâques

17 April (Monday)

23 May (Monday)

Victoria Day/Fête de la Reine ou Journée nationale des Patriotes

22 May (Monday)

10 October (Monday)

Thanksgiving Day/Action de Grâce

9 October (Monday)

11 November (Friday)

Remembrance Day/Jour du Souvenir

11 November (Saturday)

26 December (Monday)

Boxing Day/Lendemain de Noël

26 December (Tuesday)

Easter Monday is an optional holiday in Alberta and Prince Edward Island, but only a statutory holiday for public service workers in Yukon and federal employees in all of Canada.

Victoria Day is an optional holiday in the provinces of New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island, and provincial statutory in Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Ontario, Saskatchewan and Yukon.

Thanksgiving is not a paid public holiday in New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island. It is, however a provincial statutory in Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Ontario, Quebec, Saskatchewan and Yukon.

Remembrance Day is a statutory holiday in all of Canada except in Manitoba, Newfoundland and Labrador, Ontario and Quebec.

Boxing Day is not a paid public holiday, but an optional holiday in Alberta, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island. In Yukon it is statutory for public service workers.

For anyone in British Colombia, Manitoba, Newfoundland and Labrador, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Quebec and Saskatchewan, who are not federally employed, Boxing Day is not a holiday. Ontario is the only province, where Boxing Day is a statutory holiday.

There are also other common statutory holidays in Canada - these holidays are divided into provinces, and are not national holidays.

Family Day Canada
Family Day/Fête de la Famille is a holiday, celebrated on the 8th of February 2016 and 13th of February in British Colombia. It is also a holiday in Alberta, Ontario, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia, and is celebrated in these provinces on February 15 in 2016 and February 20 in 2017.

February 15 in 2016 and February 20 in 2017 are also the dates of three other holidays; Louis Riel Day (Journée Louis Riel), which is celebrated in Manitoba, Islander Day/Fête des Insulaires, which is celebrated in the province of Prince Edward Island. Finally is Heritage Day (Fête du Patrimoine) in Nova Scotia also celebrated on these dates in February.

Canada Civic Holiday
A civic holiday is, in legal sense, a holiday that is legally recognized and on this day employers must offer their employees a holiday pay. However, the Civic Holiday in Canada is a holiday that is meant to replace the ‘Birthday’ of the provinces and territories. The holiday is celebrated the first Monday of August.

Newfoundland and Labrador, Quebec and Yukon do not recognise the Civic Holiday at all. Some provinces (Ontario, Alberta, Manitoba, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island) have chosen to make it an optional holiday - which means that the employers do not have to pay their employees a holiday pay.

It is only Saskatchewan, British Columbia, New Brunswick, Nunavut and Northwest Territories who decided to make it a statutory holiday.

The Civic Holiday is celebrated on the 1st of August in 2016 and the 7th of August in 2017.

Canada National Holidays 2016/2017
Article: Canada National Holidays 2016/2017
Topics: , ,
Published: Thursday, November 26 2015
Latest revision: Wednesday, December 16 2015

Send feedback or suggestions to the editors

Send kommentar